KL Rahul becomes India’s captain for the ODI series against South Africa, Jasprit Bumrah becomes his deputy

India’s ODI squad for South Africa tour: KL Rahul has been named captain of India for its upcoming three game ODI series against South Africa and Jasprit Bumrah has been named deputy captain. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced this when it announced India’s ODI squad for the South Africa tour on December 31, 2021.

KL Rahul will act as a replacement tipper instead of Rohit Sharma, who was excluded from the series because of a thigh injury. The BCCI reportedly awaited confirmation of Rohit Sharma’s health status before announcing the Indian ODI team for an SA tour.

Read more: Rohit Sharma replaces Virat Kohli as India’s new ODI, T20I captain

India’s ODI squad for South Africa tour

India’s ODI roster for South Africa 2022: KL Rahul (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, R Ashwin, W Sundar, J Bumrah (VC )), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj

In addition to Rohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami was spared and Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja are also out due to injury.

India’s tour of South Africa 2021-22

India’s South Africa tour 2021-22 includes two series – Test and ODI series. The four-game T20I series, which was originally part of the tour, has been postponed and will be played at a later date.

The India vs. South Africa test series began on December 26, 2021 and will last until January 15, 2021. The tour was originally supposed to start on December 17, but has been postponed due to the outbreak of the new Omicron Covid variant. Both BCCI and Cricket South Africa decided to continue part of the series, taking all precautionary measures.

India vs South Africa Test and ODI Series will be played behind closed doors with no spectators to protect the players and the tour.

India vs. South Africa revised test series data

First test 26.-30. December

Second test 3rd-7th January

Third test 11-15 January

India vs. South Africa ODI schedule

First ODI January 19 (Boland Park, Paarl)

Second ODI January 21 (Boland Park, Paarl)

Third ODI – January 23 (Newlands, Cape Town)


Rohit Sharma was named as India’s new ODI captain on December 8, 2021, will succeed Virat Kohli. He was about to start his new stint in the South Africa Series but was unfortunately excluded due to a thigh injury sustained in training. Sharma was named T20 captain of India after the T20 World Cup in 2021 after Virat Kohli announced his wish to step down. Sharma made his debut as India’s full-time T20 captain during India’s T20 series against New Zealand in November 2021.


नीचे दिए गए लिंक को क्लिक करे और Government Recruitments – Study Guide and Study Tips की ताज़ा खबरों से जुड़े रहें |

भारत माता की जय |

Leave a Reply